Flying objects


There was a moment this evening when the seconds stood still. I’d put away some very slow-going, very important knitting that I’ve been doing for several months, folding it carefully into a neat pile while I had my supper.

Since I am in decadent holiday-week mode, supper was a piece of (rather crispy) pizza balanced on a plate on my lap on the sofa. Just as I tried to cut into the crust the whole thing skidded off the plate and flew across the room … straight into the tall paper carrier bag where I’d put the knitting.

It was a few moments before I could bear to look inside.

The relief: it had landed face up and the knitting was safe. Phew.

Leave a Reply

